A New Year Is Upon Us


Like many of you, I have taken some time off during the holidays to be with my family. I’ve had a wonderful time laying low at home, enjoying Christmas and have had plenty of time to reflect on the past year, to plan and look forward to a new year. It has been an exciting year for me and my family and I have many of you to thank for that and many fine memories that I have shared with you too.

On February 27, 2012, my son and third child, Owen Michael Oravits was born! To Angela’s surprise, he was a boy. She was sure we had our third girl because she had accidentally seen the ultrasound a few days before that falsely identified Owen as a girl. “It’s a boy!” I said as Owen entered the world. “What! Are you sure?” Angela asked. I was quite sure.

The other thing that really dominated our lives in 2012 was my campaign for the Flagstaff City Council. It was a long, year long in fact, race that consumed so much of our lives. My family and my wife Angela were so great and supportive and so many other folks as well. Even with a newborn at home, we made it through. And if you haven’t been following, I won!

As I take time off to plan and reflect, I am feeling recharged. There is a lot I wish to accomplish this year in my business, which I plan to continue to grow, as well as things I want to get done and change at City Hall in Flagstaff. I also plan to write and post a lot more to my blog this upcoming year and not just politics. I want to share my travel experiences and I also want to share my investment and business experiences as well. So going forward my blog will focus on these three subjects.

So my week and a half long, self imposed isolation is about to come to an end. I’m ready to shave the beard that’s starting to take hold, put my tie back on and get back to work. I’m looking forward to 2013. Happy New Year everyone!

20121229-225633.jpg


2 thoughts on “A New Year Is Upon Us

  1. Jeff, Thanks for keeping us all up on the City Council and your personal stories. I enjoyed this one about your “surprise son’s birth” – very funny! Have a Happy New Year! Rich

    J. Richard Hull

    Date: Mon, 31 Dec 2012 22:26:00 +0000 To: jrichard3@msn.com

  2. Jeff
    May you and your family have a “Happy New Year” filled with many Blessings. Keep up the good fight and help our City Council get more focused on spending limits and getting better results for the money we are already spending or committed to spend this coming year.

Leave a Reply

