Is the Daily Sun stirring up the pot to try & sell papers?


Is the Daily Sun stirring up the pot to try & sell papers?

“Once again, the men on the Flagstaff City Council are balancing the budget on the backs of abused women and children.” This from a recent letter to the editor.

A little perspective.

Not that long ago I led the charge (& Mayor Nabours supported) to fund Flagstaff’s homeless shelter with emergency funds. My request for $5,000 to support the shelter that houses both men and women was rejected by Council. The Daily Sun ran an editorial “Shelter deserves support, but let’s go through channels”. In this case, proper “channels” was apparently the United Way (UW). As if the UW was the only “channel” to go through. Perhaps this channel and the 15% fee they would have received was needed to properly fund UW’s local $97,000 a year CEO and their annual dues of nearly $20,000 to the national UW to support UW’s National CEO’s salary of about $1,000,000.

A week after that rejection, I went through my own channels and helped raise about $15,000 from the private sector without the help of the United Way. Proof that the private sector steps up when needed.

Now some are stirring the pot and the Daily Sun is accommodating this by trying to frame “the men on Council” as heartless and cold.

Shame on you Daily Sun.

The Daily Sun also ran an editorial “Cutting social services for roads unwise”. They forgot to mention that I asked to find ways to increase funding to the Humane Society in order to facilitate their need for an additional $80,000. I’d rather prevent puppies and kittens from being euthanized than fund SEDI’s micro loans to business start ups.

So while the paper and some groups are trying to paint the “men on Council” as something they are not, dig into the facts a little deeper and look past what appears to be a politically motivated agenda and a pathetic attempt to boost a business model that is clearly failing.

The Daily Sun as Flagstaff’s only daily newspaper owes it to the public to be more balanced. It may even help them sell a few more papers too. Until they change their ways though I’ll rely on the variety of other local news resources such as talk radio, blogs, and other media outlets that seem to be more fairly representing the facts in a balanced way.


31 thoughts on “Is the Daily Sun stirring up the pot to try & sell papers?

  1. On the other hand, why would I want to donate to any charity or community need when the city already takes my tax money and uses it for those purposes?

  2. Jeff, your comments are telling. You would rather support kittens and puppies than the families and small businesses in our community who are trying to survive. Shame on you.

    1. Carol, we only have so much money. The humane society is in need of $80,000 extra this year. YOU WOULD FUND SEDI OVER THE HUMANE SOCIETY?

      You think it’s the job of the City to support micro loans to business startups versus the animal shelter? Where do you propose the extra money comes from?

    2. Carol, I appreciate your comments. I do remember though that you fought hard to adopt the strictest energy code which would have cost families and businesses in Flagstaff further economic hardship. How do you justify your comment of “shame on me” when I have consistently fought to keep the cost of housing and living in flagstaff down?

    3. Also Carol, was it “shame on me” when I supported facts, NACASA, victims witness, the shelter and so on? Is United Way so sacred that no one can question their operations, their overhead or even the salary of their CEOs?

      1. Gosh Jeff, I would not claim to have the intimate knowledge of the city’s budget that you do. I was simply reacting to your comment stating your preference to save kitties and puppies over SEDI’s micro loan program. The program is designed to augment those offered by NACET, ECoNA, and City Economic Vitality, by filling an unmet need – helping a group in dire need of a little help. It’s a partnership with the other organizations. In addition, you will recall that the monies the city provides to SEDI support the SEDI mission, not one program. SEDI is working to strengthen the local economy. I am an animal lover, but when you pit baby animals against struggling families and businesses in our community, I am responding in opposition to your position.

        I do applaud your support for some social agencies in the community, but that was not part of the conversation. In addition, you suggested “you fought hard to adopt the strictest energy code which would have cost families and businesses in Flagstaff further economic hardship”. I will mention that although I believe that the energy codes would benefit the entire community if they were up to date (only affecting NEW development BTW), I was not any part of that conversation before council or out of that arena.

        It is my sincere hope that the City Council will understand how much value the community derives from the work of the many non profits here in Flagstaff, and the legion volunteers who support them. The return for investment I believe is remarkable.

        On Mon, Apr 14, 2014 at 9:54 AM, Jeff Oravits wrote:

        > Gabor Kovacs commented: “Sorry, times four.” >

    4. Jeez, Carol,
      They wanted 5k, he got them 15k w/o taxing the poor, or paying for the fat sallary of obviously not-shiny “charity’s” ceo. THAT is beyond any call or expectation for a city council member.
      I’m not familiar w/ the editorial he refers to, but listing its existence is not condemning, especially in view of the the prior referenced article, and his listed solution.
      I hope this helps… But if you already knew better, I hope it shames.

      1. Interesting how my inclusion of the “Shame on you” quote from Jeff’s original post seems to have generated an edit to take it out. Hmm. Jeff originally said, “AZ Daily Sun shame on you”

  3. “Is the daily sun stirring the pot to try and sell newspapers?”

    Well, answer me this…… Is the Pope Catholic?

    Duh !

    Of course, the Daily Sun is welcome and free to donate all they wish to their favorite charities, but their owners and stockholders may disagree with that use of their profits (assuming they have any).

    Likewise Flagstaff taxpayers may feel that charitable giving is a personal responsibility and not something that should be done with their tax money.

    1. Rich–I could not agree with you more. If these Progressives feel that donations to these charities is so critical, they should donate individually. Each of us has different charities we value and favor. We should not be forced, through our tax dollars, to fund the charities THEY want.

  4. The Daily Sun’s current one-sided attitude lost them our subscription… would be happy to support a newspaper that fairly represents all sides on issues. Given the facts, we can makeup our own minds.

  5. It is unlikely the Daily Sun will ever be balanced. And, unfortunately, the Progressive speak often lacks facts or honesty. The Wall Street Journal is my paper of Choice. I do subscribe to the Sun to see what they are up to, but I am often extremely disappointed, though not surprised with their one-sided and wrong-sided views. There is not much real Journalism these days.

  6. It will be interesting to see if the paper prints my letter asking how much UW gets from each 501???
    And…the more wood we give out the more I see Flagstaff is needing a tight fiscal fist…thank you.
    Lee

  7. I believe I posted this in the wrong chain this morning. Sorry.

    Gosh Jeff, I would not claim to have the intimate knowledge of the city’s budget that you do. I was simply reacting to your comment stating your preference to save kitties and puppies over SEDI’s micro loan program. The program is designed to augment those offered by NACET, ECoNA, and City Economic Vitality, by filling an unmet need – helping a group in dire need of a little help. It’s a partnership with the other organizations. In addition, you will recall that the monies the city provides to SEDI support the SEDI mission, not one program. SEDI is working to strengthen the local economy. I am an animal lover, but when you pit baby animals against struggling families and businesses in our community, I am responding in opposition to your position.
    I do applaud your support for some social agencies in the community, but that was not part of the conversation. In addition, you suggested “you fought hard to adopt the strictest energy code which would have cost families and businesses in Flagstaff further economic hardship”. I will mention that although I believe that the energy codes would benefit the entire community if they were up to date (only affecting NEW development BTW), I was not any part of that conversation before council or out of that arena.
    It is my sincere hope that the City Council will understand how much value the community derives from the work of the many non profits here in Flagstaff, and the legion volunteers who support them. The return for investment I believe is remarkable.

    1. I learned the other day that SEDI gives out high risk low interest loans with my tax dollars. Even loaning to people with a credit score of 600 or lower. I was told this by someone who supports SEDI. Can you confirm this? Also, if the City stopped funding SEDI, SEDI would still exist. So many are acting like SEDI relies completely on City funds. If what SEDI does is so noble perhaps you can do some great fundraisers around town and make up for the small amount the City gives your organization. Bottom line, I don’t feel that it’s a core service and I’d like to see the City use the money for core services.

      1. No no. These are loans that have nothing to do with your tax dollars. They are not at risk. There are other organizations who have determined that they are willing to take the risk to loan to these folks who are at need, for very small loans. The city money has nothing to do with these loans, except to help SEDI stay afloat to do the myriad list of things they do to help keep the regional economy strong. Thanks for asking!

      1. Elisha, I certainly did not refuse anything. May I suggest you contact Eric Marcus, the ED of SEDI for his stories of success (emarcus@sedinaz.org). I am wildly busy right now and not excessively involved with SEDI currently. Thanks for your patience.

        On Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 2:05 PM, Jeff Oravits

Leave a Reply

