My Votes This Week


IMG_1618
MET WITH GOVERNOR DUCEY
Mayor Nabours and I met one on one in Flagstaff this week with Governor Ducey followed by the annual Lincoln Day Dinner, of which the Governor was the keynote speaker. We spoke with the Governor about forest health, Red Gap Ranch pipeline and the pipeline right of way along I-40, and how to improve the overall economy of Arizona and Flagstaff. In just over a month in office both the Mayor and I have spoken to him several times and have been impressed by his availability and willingness to meet. I look forward to working with the Governor and his office going forward and continuing the dialogue in order to advance not only Flagstaff but all of Arizona.

FLAGSTAFF TOURISM
I was pleased to support and vote for the appointment of Debbi McCraley Grogan to the tourism commission. Tourism is vital to Flagstaff’s economy and Debbie’s experience in this industry will be an asset to our community.

$300,000 TRAFFIC STUDY
I voted against spending $300,000 on an outside consultant for a Flagstaff traffic study. Zero dollars of the $300,000 was going to go into “concrete”, that is actual physical improvements. I could not justify this amount of money to an outside contractor when we have staff and a city/county planning organization that should handle these matters. PASSED 6-1

MY VOTES THIS WEEK
-APPROVAL OF PAST MINUTES
PASSED 7-0
-Appointments to Tourism and Transportation Commissions
PASSED 7-0
-LIQUOR LICENSE
Hunan West and SoSoBa
PASSED 7-0
-$1.5 million Industrial Drive Improvements
PASSED 7-0
-Westglen Mobile Home Park plat approval
PASSED 7-0
-$300,000 TRANSIT STUDY
PASSED 6-1, I voted against
-EARTH DAY STREET CLOSURE
PASSED 7-0
-SUBDIVISION ASSURANCES
PASSED 5-2 with Overton and myself opposed

MEDIA LINKS
-FlagMornings. Discussing my visit with the Governor this week and my upcoming trip to D.C. http://chirb.it/Iz94sx

-NAZ TODAY. Discussing my visit with the Governor. http://www.naztoday.com/news/council-member-discusses-the-governor-s-visit/article_be940296-b7d5-11e4-9205-1f1ae4a81089.html?TNNoMobile

UPCOMING
-I’ll be meeting in D.C. with Sen. McCain and Flake next week along with Representatives Kirkpatrick and Gosar.
-I’ll be on the Chamber Business Hour this Saturday at 11:00AM on 93.5FM/930AM.
-Join me at Winterfest in the CalRanch parking lot this Saturday from 3-6 for a free event with sled dogs, snow play area and more.


Leave a Reply

