My Votes, Upcoming Events. 1/9/16


$2,400,000 ROUNDABOUT PASSES 5-1. I voted against a wasteful $2.4 million roundabout at Turquoise & Switzer Canyon. Unfortunately it passed 5-1. Read more below…

I NEED YOUR HELP TO REACH MY FUNDRAISING GOAL of $5,000!
Your contribution will help me continue to get things done for Flagstaff. DONATE $20 right now by clicking here. My promise to you, I’ll continue my common sense approach on Council and I promise to remain the most transparent and accessible Councilmember.

DON’T Trash Our Forests
I worked to get the message out this week to snow play visitors by doing an interview on ABC15 out of Phoenix, encouraging visitors to leave the forest as they found it. Piles of plastic sleds are being left behind. I’ll continue pushing this message statewide. 

OPENING DAY @ LEGISLATURE
For the fourth year in a row I will be a guest at the opening day of the Arizona Legislature. This year I was invited by the Speaker of the House, David Gowan. You can bet that I’ll be talking with the Speaker about the funding Flagstaff needs for a Veterans Care Home. The Speaker and other members of the Legislature have told me they intend to fund the home this year. 

COMMISSIONS CHANGE PASSES 4-3
I voted with Councilmembers Brewster and Evans opposing a change to the way Council appoints commissioners. Specifically, I made a motion to continue to have specialty appointments for the tourism commission requiring 4 of the 7 members to be from the tourism field. This failed. All commissions will now be at large. 

OTHER RECENT VOTES
– Liquor License, Farleys Market, 5130 89A. 7-0
– Property Dedication, Industrial Drive, for right of way improvements. 7-0

UPCOMING ISSUES in January 

6pm Jan 12thSustainability Commissions recommendations re: plastic bags, Downtown Marriott dev agreement. 

6pm Jan 19, Parking meter vote, Animal keeping ordinance. 

6pm Jan 26, City sidewalk discussion, Carbon tax. 

LINCOLN DAY DINNER, CD1 DEBATE Monday, Feb 15th
Mayor Nabours and I will be moderating a Republican Congressional District 1 debate/forum. All 5 candidates have committed. Tickets can be purchased by clicking here

continued from above…
$2,400,000 ROUNDABOUT PASSES 5-1

Why’d I vote no? Way to expensive. I recognize the need for better traffic control at this location and that’s why I recommended starting with a 3 way stop sign. Currently no stop sign or stop light exists. For safety concerns I recommend adding rumble strips and signage to alert cars to slow down for the upcoming stop sign. My option would of cost maybe $50,000 versus $2.4 million. My next choice would be a stop light, maybe $500,000. Even this option save a lot of money. 
Another reason I voted against this, property must be acquired and one of the property owners did not seem interested in selling. I will not support taking of property through eminent domain when alternatives exist. 
Finally, the push that we must do a roundabout for safety concerns was overblown. If traffic lights are so dangerous, are we going to start replacing all the tragic lights? Bottom line, alternatives existed over this $2.4 million Taj Mahal of roundabouts. 
ROUNDABOUT INTERVIEW ON NAZ TODAY
http://www.naztoday.com/news/flagstaff-city-council-approves-roundabout-construction/article_c6b0e918-b652-11e5-b6ea-ef2313be7e63.html?TNNoMobile

paid for by Jeff4Flagstaff


Leave a Reply

