FLG Legislative Recap May 16, Updates


VETERAN HOME GETS STATE FUNDING!
We did it! After years of planning and months of working with the Legislature and Governor, Flagstaff receives $10,000,000 for a future Veterans Care Home. I will start lobbying our Federal Representatives for the final funding with a goal of breaking ground in the next 2-3 years!
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=9WJi7YDWFrc&feature=youtu.be

RE-EXAMINING EXISTING LAWS
Is the ordinance or policy having the desired outcome? That’s a question as a Councilmember I often ask and one that I believe should be asked more often. 

That was the question I asked recently regarding our Historic Preservation Ordinance. The answer from quite a few in our community with experience under this ordinance, while supporting the intent of historic preservation, has been in many cases, no. People are seeing massive delays that take months and costs that are often way out of proportion to the project. So on behalf of these community members I asked to review the ordinance and council agreed. We’ll look at it this fall. 

No doubt we’ll hear from people that have nothing but good, nothing but bad and all points in between to say about this ordinance. I welcome comments and participation from the community and think it’s a healthy discussion to have. 

We need to look and see if the ordinance is doing what it is intended to do, is it accomplishing what it was designed to do. If not, maybe tweaking it isn’t a bad thing. 

Wether it’s a policy, ordinance, city, company or yourself, the task of making things the best they can be never ends!   

Daily Sun Article
LEGISLATIVE RECAP, MEET THE CANDIDATES
Monday, May 16, 5:30PM
2501 N 4th Street
I’ve worked with Speaker of the House David Gowan to hold a Legislative recap in Flagstaff. Mayor Nabours will give a City update and you’ll have the opportunity to meet several candidates for City Council and County Board. 
https://www.facebook.com/events/514866828722510/

EAST FLG HOTEL
I was thrilled to say a few words at the ground breaking for Ash Patel’s newest hotel. The first in East Flagstaff in decades!

MY VOTES

LIQUOR LICENSE RECOMMENDATIONS
Grimaldi’s Pizza, OSushi, Vino Loco, Roux 66, Milton Mobile.
PASSED 7-0

NEW MOWER
Approval and Purchase: Enter into a contract with Simpson Norton of Phoenix, Arizona topurchase the Groundsmaster 5910 Mower in the amount of $110,914.52.
PASSED 7-0

$150k + IN GRANTS
Arizona Governor’s Office of Highway Safety (GOHS) Federal Fiscal Year 2017 for PoliceDepartment Applications for DUI Task Force, Youth Alcohol Prevention and Traffic SafetyGrants.
PASSED 7-0

FIRE AGREEMENT
2016 Cooperative Fire RateAgreement (CFRA) with AZ State Forestry
PASSED 7-0

COUNCIL TRAVEL POLICY
Majority agreed to update the policy. I’ll get it out once it is re-drafted.

WALNUT CANYON PAVING
Mayor Nabours and I have been working to get Walnut Canyon Road paved for four years. The neighbors have been trying for decades. We came up with a plan to use the millings from all the road construction going on around town. We brought this to Council on behalf of the neighbors. Tuesday it advanced. I want to see this road being paved next year!

HISTORIC PRESERVATION ORDINACE
On March 29th I requested a future Council work session on the subject of the Historic Preservation Ordinance and the role of the Preservation Officer. At that meeting I requested , “a very broad discussion to hone in on the duties of the office, the position (of the historic preservation officer) and also the code and how it applies.” I made a pretty broad WORKSESSION request.  

I brought this forward on behalf of John Conely. Mr Conely reached out to me in March voicing his frustrations as a result of his experience with some aspects of the Heritage Preservation Ordinance. I listened to Mr. Conely and I thought his experience warranted a public discussion. So I brought it forward to see if there is council interest to discuss the ordinance in a work session. My interest is also an educational issue on the ordinance. After Mr. Conely brought it to me I recognized I really knew very little about this ordinance and wondered what others in the community knew of it so I thought it would be a good idea for a public work session to discuss and evaluate weather the ordinance is having the desired results. By bringing this forward I also hope to hear from the community with their experiences with this ordinance.  

Ultimately, after an hour, my item advanced by a 4-3 VOTE. It was 5-2 but Vice Mayor Barotz withdrew her support at the last second after affirming her support two times in the hour. WATCH THE VIDEO. Pretty telling of the dynamic of this Council It’s Item 15B http://flagstaffaz.swagit.com/play/05032016-1158/#0

I’M LOOKING FORWARD TO MAKING THIS ORDINANCE BETTER!


Paid for by Jeff4Flagstaff


2 thoughts on “FLG Legislative Recap May 16, Updates

  1. Ref. NEW MOWER

    Maybe the $110+K price included $23K in options. I just wanted to see what a $110K mower looked like and along with the picture of it came the price list. Look at the last one with yellow background.

Leave a Reply

